The Rugs

DSC01415In 2005 songwriter Matthew Darkly and recording engineer Eric Schuchmann set out to make the best garage rock album Springfield, MO  had yet to hear. They took over The Studio in downtown Springfield for a few months while crafting out these jams. They brought in their friends Lou Whitney, Richie Rebuth and a few others to play on the songs.

On March 27, 2006 their self titled album “The Rugs” was released.
After finishing the album a band was put together with some of the musicians that had played on the album. At first the idea was to only play a celebratory gig. However, it went over so well more shows were booked.
After the first show Jimi Schuchmann the original drummer for The Rugs left to take an internship in Omaha and later move to St. Louis. Jimi was replaced with Donnie Thompson.  The band got opportunities to play in St. Louis, Kansas City, a number of shows in Springfield.

In 2007 Matt moved to “another” Missouri city this slowed the live schedule down but didn’t stop them from recording. They embarked on their sophomore record a full album was recorded but scrapped because “It just didn’t feel right” said Matt.
They started again this time with a new list of songs and a new attitude. The album was successfully finished and on January 26, 2008 “Vacuum” was released.

On November 4, 2008 Magic 8 Ball  was released as part of  Moodring Records MRR Single series. This single featured yet a new drummer, Brian Azevedo. Brian replaced Donnie Thompson in 2008 because of Donnie’s schedule with Brian Capps and The True Liars. However Donnie has since rejoined the group on numerous shows.

March 27, 2010 The Rugs had the honor of opening for Chuck Berry at The Pageant in St. Louis MO
January 29, 2011 The Rugs performed at Moodring Records first birthday show. The event took place at The Studio in Springfield, MO. The event was filmed and audio captured to hard drive.

In January 2012 The Rugs put the band back together with John Anderson on drums. They’ve begun recording their third studio album.

In September 2014 The Rugs suffered the lose of our executive producer and bass player Lou Whitney. They decided to keep rocking in memory of Lou. They took a new stab at recording a third studio album with new personnel.  Matt Carlock is now on drums, with Eric taking the bass and rhythm guitar role, and Steve Newman on lead guitar.

Swept Under – The Rugs third studio album was released April 11, 2017 and is availble on our bandcamp page.

The Rugs current line up: Matt Darkly – vocals. Eric Schuchmann – bass guitar and rhythm guitar. Matt Carlock – drums and backing vocals. Stevie Newman – guitar. (Not currently playing live but still in the band: Richie Rebuth – guitar, Donnie Kraft – keys)



%d bloggers like this: